… or editing.

I have done two more Balticon Podcasts, the one with Paulo Bacigalupi is up here. The one with Mark Van Name is coming up soon. As I listen to myself, I think I have to sound less like I am reading my own script, which is exactly what I am doing. This time around, Martha had a fever and wanted to get to sleep, so I was a little pressed for time. I found out this last time that I am better with Mountain Dew and relaxing more, and that I should do the podcast standing up. Paul Fischer said I can do a few interviews at Balticon 45 if I want, and I think I am going to give it a try for a couple of random guests (I don’t care who; all guests are equal in my eyes).

They used my Balticon (the con) bumper! Hooray!

I am going to invest in my own mic, and record from home. I have to get a mic for reading my own books, and do my own skits. Then I’ll post some of the links here, and hopefully be less stilted. I might do a few comedy podcasts, so who knows. I don’t have enough material for anything monthly, but I may do a few shows a year with skits, bullshitting, and since I’ll be traveling the cons I may do some recordings with special friends of mine who are naturally funny. My old comedy group, which barely lifted off the ground, “Strange Tea,” may be resurrected in another form, but I have been thinking on renaming it, “Drinking Tea with Weird Gods,” based on a similar line from Douglas Adams’ “The Restaurant at the End of the Universe” where he described the works of “Great Circling poets of Arium:”

“The first part of each song would tell how there once went forth from the City of Vassillian a party of five sage princes with for horses. The princes, who are of course brave, noble, and wise, travel widely in distant lands, fight giant ogres, pursue exotic philosophies, take tea with weird gods and rescue beautiful monsters from ravening princesses before finally announcing that they have achieved enlightenment and that their wanderings are therefore accomplished. The second, and much longer, part of each song would then tell of all their bickerings about which one of them is going to have to walk back.”

But apart from that, my main draw away from creative projects has been Katsucon, where I am vice-chair and a member of the KEI board along with Christine. We both work under Paul, and have two directors positions as well. Christine is Head of Guest Relations, and I am in charge of Main Events (like Cosplay, Super Art Fight, the Dances, Anime Music Videos, the Japanese Band we’re getting, and so on). This involves a lot of mail, calling, hotel visits, and wrangling of dedicated department heads (and I love them all, they are very awesome and hard working folk). Not to mention security for said events. And work has been busy, too. Not a lot of free time to do stuff as it was in September/October which is GOOD for the company (and thus, me) but not so much for non-work related projects.

Don’t get me wrong, I want to be a paid author and eventually make a living from it. But for right now, I have to wisely invest money and time.

Lot of balls in the air to juggle. But I am still on target for December Beta readers of Trolley, even if I have to drop the NaNoWrioMo Ball. 😦

