Well, this weekend I finished the book. The ending needs some work, but it’s mainly a decision process. I am “letting it cool,” so to speak.

I won’t kid you, the book was rough on me. Horror is something I have written many times before, but never actually had published, unless you count my short story in Gateways Magazine in the 90s. I forgot the title, but the gist was monks trapped in a monastery on a dying world are getting murdered one by one, with the prophesy being the survivor will be the ruler of a new generation of life. Not really horror as much as apocalyptic fiction. But in this book, I had to put a young woman into some terrible, horrifying, and gut-wrenching situations. I could spare her no mercy. So I was not feeling very well by the time it was done.

Thus, I decided my next project would be a comedy. I wondered if I should revamp “The Saga of Punk Walrus,” but I am doing something different with publishing that one, so I pushed it further down the stack as a new story started crawling out of my head.

“Paraparanormal” came to me near the end of “Trolley.” The story has three characters:
– Lars Jackson: (pronounced “Yak-sen”) a Linux geek, anime fan, and avid gamer. Very antisocial and reluctant to be taken outside of his shell.
– Frank Griswald: a self-proclaimed paranormal investigator, Frank is the result of a lot of medical testing at a young age, and tends to be paranoid and bipolar
– Abigail “Kittenripper” Ephron: A Halakha roller derby girl who works for the Jewish “Kosher Nostra” mafia. Has yet to break it to her mother she’s a lesbian.

The plot is basically Frank runs afoul of some government project, and drags Lars into the fray trying to hide from them. They enlist the help of Abigail and her mafia connections. Hilarity ensues.

