Yeah, 70k. Wow. Last time I wrote this well with this much purpose, was NaNoWriMo in 2005. So if the current pace continues, I’ll be done with a copy ready for Beta by early December. I am looking for some of my friends who want to be beta readers. Here’s my requirements.

  • I have to know and trust you. No brainer there. Sorry, I can’t have people stealing this and posting it as their own.
  • You have to be reliable enough to read the book within a month, probably the month of December. It will end at about 120k words, give or take 10k or so. That’s 20% more than “Ender’s Game” and about 30% less than than “Dune.” Don’t take this on if you’ll flake because that will start a guilt loop. If you say you’ll read it and don’t, expect nagging.
  • You have to realize this is steampunk and horror. Some disturbing stuff happens to nice, undeserving people. And there is machinery, although this will not read like a Clancy novel. The horror is more gore and supernatural thriller than suspense. There is no erotica, although implied romance and frank discussions of body functions will be used in some rare cases. It is a departure from my usual humor, so if this is not your cup of tea, no worries, you don’t have to read it.
  • You are required to be honest, and you are protected by this requirement. This is not a fishing for complements. If you hate it, be prepared to tell me why, but you will not lose my friendship over it. If you like it, tell me why. If you like one part, but hate another, tell me why. “Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera…”
  • While I will listen to all suggestions, I have the right to not use them. You have the right to say “I told you so” if that ever comes up later.
  • This may also arrive to you unfinished. Or not at all, if my life takes a serious turn of some kind.
  • You don’t have to be an editor, I will hire one professionally. I am looking for people to point out mood, flow, loopholes, and contradictions, and whether they would recommend this book or not.
  • If I get a lot of responses, I will pick and choose among them to balance out tastes. If you are not selected, don’t take it personally. But I have a feeling I won’t have a lot of requests.

If you are interested, send me a private e-mail. If I know and trust you, you will know how to get in touch with me. If you have no desire to read it, I will not push it on you, so I will consider all non-responses as neutral and move along.

