After a lot of cutting and weeding, I started writing forward again, and now I am out of novella territory to behind the borders of novel country. To give you an idea of how quickly this went from inception at ConTEXT 23 to today, that’s 54,000 words in 42 days, or roughly 1,285 words/day on average. That’s not bad. It’s not as fast as I did with NaNoWriMo in 2005, when I did 75,000/30 days, or 1,500 words/day, or a self-imposed marathon where I did 115k/31 days, or but I am not picky.

This surpassed my “Mothership” novel, which is at 39,000 words (about 30% done), but it still far less than “Between the Lines,” at 141,000 (almost done).

Of course, it’s not just about word count. That book I did 115,000 words during the month of July a few years ago? Total crap. That story stunk so bad… but I was going for a speed record. I didn’t even finish. I think once I go over 1500 words/day, the quality just drops. So 1285? I’ll take it. If the pace is constant, should be done and ready for editing in December which is convenient, because then I’ll be in full Katsucon mode.

I should have a taste of the book up next week.

